This week does not have a main topic as the Production Research lasts for 2 weeks, so there was a follow-up from last week. Although it was a week packed with practical lessons. We learnt about clapperboards. This is used before filming a scene. Everyone has to be ready when the sound of the clapperboard is heard, more information below.The other practical that we did was linked to a topic we’ve already learnt weeks ago,which was lighting. Although the practical was different and we used the 3 point lighting in our practical.

For a starter, there was nothing new to learn for the Production Research, we carried on with what are were meant to research. The things we added on it though was the primary research and the budget.For the Primary Research I talked most importantly about the location.You can’t just look at the website and say that the crew is able to film.They visually have to go there to see the possibilities of where they are able to film.The other things I wrote about the primary research were the props and the costumes. These would need to be tried before filming so that they know if it is exactly what is needed from the storyboards or not.The same goes for the costumes.

On the theory side linked to the practical we then did,we leant about clapperboard. These are equipments used before filming a scene.The director,cameraman, actors,a nd sound person all need to be ready. Making the noise to tell everyone that they can film, record and act, this is called slating. On the clapperboard there are different information that needs to be written from the scene, to the number of takes. The name of the director and cameraman needs to be written on there so that the director knows who filmed this particular scene. When we did the practical, we had to film the actor saying which type of slating we are doing with the person holding the slate at the beginning of the short video.At the beginning it was quite a struggle.I was the clapperboard person and I did not know when to get in the frame to tell the scene and number of take. So when we did it the 2nd time, it worked better.I swapped job roles with Kai. I was the sound recorder and he was the clapperboard man.We’ve managed to have done each videos we were told without a problem.At the end when we listened to the audio, we were only able to hear it from one side. On our 3rd try, we took the same roles again.I positioned the sound recorder correctly this time.Each video of the different types of slate were done well and I think there were no mistakes for them. From this practical I have learnt many things that I did not know before. I did not know for instance that there were different ways of slating because on bonus features of film,I only saw head slate being used which is most well known.

The other practical which we did was linked to Lighting.We have already done lighting in Week 2.We learned about 2 different types of light one that is with battery and quite bright and the other light which heats up pretty quickly but is not as bright.With my group we used the LED which worked on batteries.With those lights, we had to use 3 point Lighting which consists of Key light which is the strongest light to be projected on the subject.Then there is fill light which is positioned on the other side of the subject.This fills some of the shadows, adding more detail onto the person’s face. The last one is back light.For this one,the light is situated at the back of the person to show to outline,also giving more details. When it came onto the practical,we used 2 small LED lights,one as a key light, the other as a back light. We also used blue and red filters. The filters could tell us more information a person’s feeling. There were no problems with this practical at all from my point of view.When looking back at them, there were so many that worked perfectly. I have really enjoyed this practical, it was very creative.This can be useful in my Hallo Project when using lighting or other videos.

Overall, I have really enjoyed this week. I have learnt a lot of information about clapperboards which I never knew before. The practical itself was a bit of a mess but at the end, we were able to film all 4 videos. The lighting is the one I have enjoyed most so far.I am now more confident in knowing what the 3 point lighting is. For the production Research, I have learnt that it is a really vital part in the filming industry. Without any of this planning, the production you make will be a huge fail and there will be no structure at all. So whenever I will do a project, I will have to go through planning. Researching the location, the props I will use, the costumes and many other things:

Peer feedbacks

 

 

