This week was a visual based week this time. We learnt about the stages of production but based on visuals rather than audio. We then did a practical, using the same pre-production skills as last week when filling documentations, although this time we used a storyboard instead of creating a script.

For the theory part, we firstly looked at the visual parts of Pre-Production. It was quite similar to last week’s but of course it wasn’t. In Pre-production, one of the things in pre-production that applies to the visuals is storyboards. Storyboards are the most important things in planning, without them, there isn’t a story and the production and Post-production will not be done either. By having storyboards, it will save a lot of time in the production and post production because they can rely on it much faster. The other important things that applies this stage to visuals are locations and set designs. Before you go and film somewhere, you have to not only research the location in which you want to film in, but you also have to go there in reality to see what kind of shots you want to do there, the atmosphere it gives, the size of the locations and many other things. Set designs is also very important so that you know what the scenery will be like. We then talked about the elements that needed to be considered which is nearly the same as the elements considered within the audio in some ways. The extra bit which we had to add, was about the key members within the visual side of things in the production. There are many crew member from Directors, to cinematographers, to the lighting crew and many others. They all bring a specific element to the table that enriches the scenes when looking at them. For the production stage, it applies to visuals because of the filming itself. There is the use of cameras, lights, etc… The location applies to visuals as it is something visual, so it is important to find the right location for the right scene so that it makes sense. The elements that need to be considered are lighting, rehearsals, framing, understanding their equipments and checking the shots at the end. Lighting is an important element as this gives the mood of the scene as well as the characters. Framing is important so that you put the important elements of the scenes in the frame. Checking the shots at the end is a very crucial thing. By checking it, you will see if you need to get it re-done or not, if you do, this isn’t a bad thing at all, as it means, you will make the scene better than the previous one. For the post-production, some of the things that applies to the visuals are the story, editing and effects. With those things, you would have a chance of creating something unique and smoother than just editing scenes there and there, without a proper sense of what is going one.

On the practical part, in the same principles as for last week’s radio play, we had to create our own group video with a different group this time rather than my original group. We had to do the same pre-production process as we did the last week. This means, we had to fill out some of the documents, scouting the location which we would use for the production etc…For my group we wanted our story to be ‘different’ and it was quite hard but at the end , we did manage to find an idea. We thought of having someone who walks into college, playing the music, but without realising that it was that loud, so other people hear the loud music that is being played. When we were finished with the planning, we went to do our filming. At first we wanted to film in the main street, but because we knew there were too many people, we thought of using one of the big corridors where it was less crowded. We had at least an hour to film in the morning and we were allowed to refill some of it if needed, but for us, we did not need it. So after-all, it did take around an hour to film it. We have used different camera angles to tell the story very effectively from my point of view.

On the post production part, this is where things began to be a little complicated. First of all, I wanted to blur the song, so that I could choose my own one. I struggled blurring the song and the image on Avid, so I thought of doing it at home using DaVinci Resolve, but that also didn’t work as well so I did it to the best I could. The audio itself was also done using DaVinci Resolve, as I was also struggling with putting some keyframes normally, did not happen when I used it for the Radio Play. Luckily, I was able to do fade in the music at the right moment. I thought the final product went quit well, although, I do know that there are areas in which I can improve. Especially the blur part, which is where I am not too confident in using from time to time. The other which I would improve that I have noticed when watching it a few time, is the music itself. I definitely wanted to choose my own music, but I then realised that people listening to the music, will take it as background music rather than coming from the headphones themselves. So then, I thought that the next time I would do something like that, I would use Audacity to change the effect of the music to make it sound as if it came from the headphones directly to make it sound and look more realistic, but because I did not know how to use it, that’s why the sound of the music is normal. In terms of the visuals, in particular, I think there was a good use of different camera movements.

Overall, I thought this was a decent final product in my opinion. The music and sound effects suited with the visuals, even though the visuals was of course the most important thing. Each stages of production went quite well, and I feel more confident in some ways about how to plan properly before going out to film.

 

